ARC Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn in this One by Amanda Lovelace

Title and Author: The Witch Doesn’t Burn in this One by Amanda Lovelace
Genre: Poetry
Length: 208 pages

You know that moment when you get a book that you have plans to savor? Especially with poetry, where you’ll read a poem here or there, whenever the mood strikes. Next thing you know, you look up and time has passed and the book is over. That’s what happened when I got my hands on the witch doesn’t burn in this one by Amanda Lovelace (also known as ladybookmad). I devoured the collection in one sitting and I have zero regrets.

Last year I purchased her first collection, the princess saves herself in this one, not quite knowing what to expect, but willing to give a shot since I had heard a lot about the book through Tumblr. I was not disappointed. From the moment I opened the book, I was sold (No. Really. With a dedication to Harry Potter, how could I say no?). It was intense, with an overarching tone of sadness amidst the poems of overcoming the various trials.

But the witch doesn’t burn in this one has an entirely different mood to it. Again, I was sold from the beginning, but I quickly realized this collection was about empowerment, strength, and rebellion—just like the character of Katniss that Lovelace makes a nod to at the start.

Just like with the princess, this book knew right where to hit: the feels. Every time I thought, “This is it. This is the most relatable poem. This one is my favorite,” Lovelace one-upped herself and proved there was still more to come.

While the witch can easily be read by itself, it is my personal recommendation to read Lovelace’s first collection before beginning her sophomore release. Both are strong on their own, but the impact they make together is profound.

***

Amanda Lovelace’s The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One is set for publication on March 6, 2018. It is available for pre-order here. I was granted an ARC through NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Leave a comment